Skip to content

5th Annual Florida Book Awards Announce Best of 2010!

March 1, 2011


CONTACT:  Florida State University:  Gloria Colvin, Chair, Florida Book Awards Executive Committee; 850-645-1680 Or

By Wayne A. Wiegand, Director, Florida Book Awards

Gloria Colvin, Chair, Executive Board


TALLAHASSEE, Fla.— Its fifth set of competitions completed, Florida Book Awards announces winners for eight categories of books published in 2010. “The culture of books in the Sunshine State continues to prosper,” notes FBA Director Wayne A. Wiegand.  “These FBA winners clearly prove it.”

The Florida Book Awards –the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program– was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year.  It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and the Florida Writers Association.

Submissions were read by eight juries of three members each nominated from across the state by cosponsoring organizations.  Jurors were authorized to select up to five medalists (including one winner and one runner-up) in each of the eight categories.

Children’s Literature
Gold: Jan Godown Annino, She Sang Promise: The Story of Betty Mae Jumper, Seminole Tribal Leader (National Geographic Society)
Silver: Mary GrandPre and Jack Prelutsky, Camille Saint-Saens’s The Carnival of the Animals (Alfred P. Knopf)
Bronze: Henry Cole, A Nest for Celeste:  A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home (Katherine Tegen Books)
Bronze: Brad Meltzer, Heroes for my Son (Harper Collins)
Bronze: Harvey E. Oyer III, The Last Egret: The Adventures of Charlie Pierce (Middle River Press)

Florida Non-Fiction
Gold: Margaret Ross Tolbert, AQUIFERious (Fidelity Press)
Silver: Julian M. Pleasants and Harry A. Kersey, Seminole Voices: Reflections on their Changing Society (University of Nebraska Press)
Bronze: Lu Vickers, Cypress Gardens, America’s Tropical Wonderland (University Press of Florida)
Bronze: Anna Lillios, Crossing the Creek (University Press of Florida)
Bronze: Randy Wayne White and Carlene Fredericka Brennen, Randy Wayne White’s Ultimate Tarpon Book (University Press of Florida)

General Fiction
Gold: Mark Mustian, The Gendarme (Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam)
Silver: Patricia Engel, Vida (Black Cat/Grove Atlantic, Inc.)
Bronze: T.M. Shine, Nothing Happens Until it Happens to You (Crown Publishing Group)
Bronze: Mary Jane Ryals, Cookie and Me (Kitsune Books)

Gold: Carol Frost, Honeycomb (Northwestern University Press)
Silver: Lola Haskins, Still, the Mountain (Paper Kite Press)
Bronze: Kelle Groom, Five Kingdoms (Anhinga Press)

Popular Fiction
Gold: William Culyer Hall, The Trouble With Panthers (Florida Historical Society Press)
Silver: Randy Wayne White, Deep Shadow (GP Putnam’s Sons)
Bronze: Joyce Elson Moore, The Tapestry Shop (Five Star/Gale/Cengage)
Bronze: Charles Martin, The Mountain Between Us (Broadway Books)
Bronze: James Grippando, Money to Burn (Harper)

Visual Arts
Gold: Jason Steuber, Laura K. Nemmers and Tracy E. Pfaff, editors, Samuel P. Harn of Art at Twenty Years: The Collection Catalogue (University Press of Florida)
Silver: Margaret Ross Tolbert, AQUIFERious (Fidelity Press)

Young Adult
Gold: Christina Diaz Gonzalez, The Red Umbrella (Alfred A. Knopf)

Spanish Lanugage
Gold: Jose Alvarez, Los Alamos del Parque (Editoral Voces de Hoy)

Winners by Location
Cape Coral/Ft. Myers/Sanibel Island area
Randy Wayne White and Carlene Fredericka Brennen

Cocoa Beach/Merritt Island area
William Culyer Hall

Coral Gables
James Grippando

Ft. Lauderdale area
Henry Cole

Lola Haskins
Margaret Ross Tolbert
Jason Steuber

Joyce Elson Moore

Charles Martin

Lake Worth/Lantana area
T.M. Shine

Miami area
Christina Diaz Gonzalez
Patricia Engel

New Smyrna Beach
Kelle Groom

Orlando/Winter Park area
Carol Frost
Anna Lillios

Jan Godown Annino
Mary Jane Ryals
Mark Mustian

José Álvarez

West Palm Beach
Harvey E. Oyer III

The eight Gold Medal Winners will  be recognized on March 23 at the Historical and Cultural Awards Ceremony sponsored by the State of Florida’s Division of Cultural Affairs at the R.A. Gray Building in Tallahassee. All award recipients will be recognized at the Florida Library Association Conference Banquet on May 5 in Orlando.  For information about the banquet, contact Sharon Gray at

To learn more about Florida Book Awards, visit: or


Wayne A. Wiegand, Director

Gloria Colvin, Chair, Executive Committee

Florida Book Awards

Florida State University

Tallahassee, FL  32306-1821



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: