Skip to content


TALLAHASSEE, Fla.— With its tenth annual competition now complete, the Florida Book Awards has announced winners for books published in 2015. More than 200 hundred eligible publications were submitted across the nine categories of competition.

Coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries, the Florida Book Awards is the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program. It was established in 2006 to celebrate the best Florida literature. Authors must be full-time Florida residents, except in the Florida nonfiction and visual arts categories, where the subject matter must focus on Florida.

Submissions were read by eight juries of three members each nominated from across the state by cosponsoring organizations. Jurors are authorized to select up to three medalists (including one Gold Winner, one Silver Runner-up, and one Bronze Medalist) in each of the eight categories; jurors are also authorized to make no selections in a given year.

Children’s Literature

  • Gold: Dianne Ochiltree, It’s A Seashell Day (Blue Apple Books)
  • Silver: Lane Fredrickson, Monster Trouble! (Dawn Publications)
  • Bronze: Angela DiTerlizzi, Moving Target (Sterling Children’s Books)

Florida Non-Fiction

  • Gold: Susan Cerulean, Coming to Pass: Florida’s Coastal Islands in a Gulf of Change (University of Georgia Press)
  • Silver: Arva Moore Parks, George Merrick, Son of the South Wind: Visionary Creator of Coral Gables (University Press of Florida)
  • Bronze: Tameka Bradley Hobbs, Democracy Abroad, Lynching at Home: Racial Violence in Florida (University Press of Florida)

General Fiction

  • Gold: Jesse Goolsby, I’D WALK WITH MY FRIENDS IF I COULD FIND THEM (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Silver: Gracie L. Chandler, Free To Be (Self-published; Life Everlasting Press)
  • Bronze: Katherine Clark, The Headmaster’s Darlings (University of South Carolina Press)

General Non-Fiction

  • Gold: Cynthia Barnett, Rain: A Natural and Cultural History (Crown Publishing)
  • Silver: J. Matthew Gallman, Defining Duty in the Civil War: Personal Choice, Popular Culture, and the Union Home Front (University of North Carolina Press)
  • Bronze: June Melby Benowitz, Challenge and Change: Right-Wing Women, Grassroots Activism, and the Baby Boom Generation (University Press of Florida)


  • Gold: Brandi George, Gog (Black Lawrence Press)
  • Silver: Donald Morrill, Awaiting Your Impossibilities (Anhinga Press)
  • Bronze: Jonathan Fink, The Crossing (Dzanc Books)

Popular Fiction

  • Gold: Patricia Gussin, After the Fall (Oceanview Publishing)
  • Silver: Marti Green, The Price of Justice (Thomas and Mercer)
  • Bronze: Bruce Thomason, Perception of Power (BATJAK Publishing)

Spanish Language

  • Gold: Andres Pi Andreu, 274 (Panamericana Editorial)

Visual Arts

  • Gold: Nic Stoltzfus, Coastal Dune Lakes: Jewels of Florida’s Emerald Coast (Live Oak Production Group)
  • Silver: Robert L. Crawford, Ticks and Politics in South Florida: The Fourth Seminole War and the Photographs of Roy Komarek (Tall Timbers Press)

Young Adult

  • Gold:Shaun David Hutchinson, FIVE STAGES OF ANDREW BRAWLEY (Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse)
  • Silver:Patrick Kendrick, The Savants (Suspense Publishing)
  • Bronze:Gabriel Horn (White Deer of Autumn), Motherless (Lisa Hagan Books)


Winners by Location

Andres Pi Andreu (Miami)
Cynthia Barnett (Gainesville)
June Melby Benowitz (Sarasota)
Susan Cerulean (Tallahassee)
Gracie L. Chandler (Jacksonville)
Katherine Clark (Pensacola)
Robert L. Crawford (Thomasville, GA)
Jonathan Fink (Pensacola)
Lane Fredrickson (Delray Beach)
J. Matthew Gallman (Gainesville)
Brandi George (Tallahassee)
Christina Diaz Gonzalez (Coral Gables)
Jesse Goolsby (Tallahassee)
Marti Green (The Villages)
Patricia Gussin (Longboat Key)
Tameka Bradley Hobbs (Pembroke Pines)
Gabriel Horn (St. Petersburg)
Shaun David Hutchinson (Port St. Lucie)
Patrick Kendrick (West Palm Beach)
Donald Morrill (Tampa)
Dianne Ochiltree (Sarasota)
Arva M. Parks (Miami)
Nic Stoltzfus (Blountstown)
Bruce Thomason (Jacksonville Beach)

The Florida Book Awards –the nation’s most comprehensive state book awards program– was established in 2006 to recognize, honor, and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year. It is coordinated by The Florida State University Libraries, and co-sponsored by the Florida Center for the Book, State Library and Archives of Florida, Florida Historical Society, Florida Humanities Council, Florida Literary Arts Coalition, Florida Library Association, “Just Read, Florida!,” Florida Family Literacy Initiative, Florida Association for Media in Education, Florida Center for the Literary Arts, the Friends of FSU Libraries, Florida Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and the Florida Writers Association.